Orinda Country Club swims 'Fast | Moraga Baseball Association and Furious' at annual Mini Meet

www.lamorindaweekly.com

Submitted by Amy Campbell



his year's 47th annual Mini Meet hosted by Meadow Swim and Tennis Club, took place on Sunday, July 16. Over 550 swimmers ages 3 to 8 from nine separate clubs swam to this year's race car theme "Fast and Furious" during one of the hottest days of the season. Orinda Country Club brought home the winning trophy, upsetting last year's winner Moraga Valley Pool. Home team Meadow rounded out the top three.

Here are this year's results:

Orinda Country Club: 706.5 pts. Moraga Valley Pool: 538 pts. Meadow Swim and Tennis Club: 377.5 pts. Sleepy Hollow Swim and Tennis Club: 318 pts. Orinda Park Pool: 270 pts. Moraga Country Club: 215 pts. Moraga Ranch Swim Club: 115 pts. Miramonte Swim Club: 78 pts. Campolindo Cabana Club: 28 pts.



Sleepy Hollow Swim & Tennis Club "B" Meet

Submitted by Dana Wentworth



held its 31st Annual "B" Invitational swimmers, and is considered the championon Sunday, July 23. This meet celebrates the "B" swimmers from the nine teams within the Orinda Moraga Pool Association

rileepy Hollow Swim and Tennis Club (OMPA). It is eagerly anticipated by many ship meet for the "B" swimmers within the OMPA. We would like to congratulate all the participants and High Point Winners of 2017.



High Point Winners:

6U Girls: Avery Marshall — Sleepy Hollow Legends

6U Boys: Cooper Ghali — Orinda Country Club

8U Girls: Zoey Hire — Moraga Valley Pool Swim Team 8U Boys: Luke Sagara — Meadow Swim Team

10U Girls: Keelin Doherty — Sleepy Hollow Legends 10U Boys: Ben Lucas — Sleepy Hollow Legends

12U Girls: Beatrice Morley — Orinda Country Club

12U Boys: Grant Barmmer — Moraga Country Club

14U Girls: Sonja Testa — Moraga Country Club

14U Boys: Malcolm Kiss — Orinda Country Club

18U Girls: Marina Storey — Moraga Valley Pool Swim Team 18U Boys: Drew Layton — Orinda Park Pool

are 2017 Pinto Champions

Submitted by Michael Baldelli



Moraga Baseball Association Astros coached by Chad Hamilton, Brian Sullivan and Brian Shaffer are 2017 Pinto Champions.

Players: Dylan Hamilton, Sevan Kalpakjian, Liam Baldelli, Ben Shaffer, Charlie Sullivan, Cade Williamson, Chase Osteen, Justin Fabo, Hudson Ortland and Brody Hall

Photo submitted by Brian Shaffer and Michael Baldelli

2017 Campolindo Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team honored

Submitted by Lisa Milburn



in honor of the 2017 Campolindo Girls claimed July 12 as "2017 Campolindo Girls"

Varsity Lacrosse Team's outstanding ac- Varsity Lacrosse Team Day." Go Cougars! complishments, the Town of Moraga pro- Congratulations on a historic season!

Campolindo Water Polo Team places second at State

Submitted by Barbara Williams



for a three day competition in Orange Coun- 14-7 in the quarterfinals.

lougar Waterpolo, earned the silver ty. The Cougars lost a hard-fought champimedal at the 2017 California State High onship game to perennial powerhouse Mater School Championships, which annually Dei 11-9, after defeating Newport Harbor brings together the top 48 teams in the state 10-7 in the semi-final and Orange Lutheran

Moraga Mavericks 12U defeat AllStars, win Buckeye Classic

Submitted by Brent Meyers



he Moraga Mavericks 12U took home the championship at the fifth annual Buckeye Classic, hosted by Lafayette Little League, defeating the Lafayette AllStars 3-2

in a great battle. The Mavericks next head to San Diego to compete with 200 teams in the Xtreme Diamond World Series.

Pictured from left, back row: coach Mike Rogers, Nick Rogers, Will Studebaker, coach Steve Hammond, Robbie Mascheroni, Justin Rodriguez, Philip Jagard, Evan Olson, coach Brent Meyers; front Row: Justin Meyers, Brendan Comerford, Lucas Concepcion, Dashiell Weaver, Charlie Hill; not pictured: Grant Roesch Photo Rob Mascheroni